Countdown to the Civil War: April 11, 1861

General Beauregard arrives at Fort Sumter under a white flag where he demands full surrender and evacuation. Robert Anderson refuses, though he mentions that barring fresh supplies, they will soon be starved out. Privy to this information, the Confederate Secretary of War, advises Beauregard not to begin bombardment of the fort, but to wait for its inevitable surrender.

Rachel Norcross’s Diary, April 11, 1861:

Stuart is off to town, saying that until the soil has dried out, there is nothing more he can do.  I find this very irritating because even if he can’t begin plowing, he could spend a little time making sure the harnesses are oiled and the plow sharpened.  And he should see to cleaning the chicken coop.  I guess I can begin that chore and carry the droppings to what will be my kitchen garden.  I had hoped he might express concern about such unaccustomed work in my condition, but he only smiled and told me to let it wait. That, when he knows me well enough to be certain I am past waiting! I worry that I have become a nag, but cannot seem to control my tongue.

Published in: on April 11, 2011 at 6:00 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alicelynn.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/countdown-to-the-civil-war-april-11-1861/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Men never notice how hard you’re working, or how much you might need a break.

  2. Women only become nags when their men fail to listen.

  3. Hmmmm…does Stewart have someone on the side?????????


Leave a Reply

