Good-bye to 2011

Like the two-faced god Janus, we look back at 2011, even as we look forward to the coming year.  Journalists, political pundits, and economists have already been hard at work analyzing the past year, and making predictions for 2012.

 

But public reflection aside, there is a personal summing up. We pat ourselves on the back for good deeds and good times, and excoriate ourselves for our failures and disappointments.

 

In my personal reckoning, I realize how little I would have accomplished in the past year without the love and encouragement of my family, friends, and colleagues. Thank-you for walking with me through challenge and self-doubt, for holding me up when I faltered, and for celebrating when things went right.

 

Wishing all of you a prosperous and happy new year!

Published in: on January 1, 2012 at 2:06 pm  Comments (18)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alicelynn.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/good-bye-to-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy New Year and more to come!

  2. Congratulations on your very first blog post w/o assistance. See, you’re already kicking butt it 2012. 🙂

  3. Happy New Year Alice!!! Looking forward to 2012 with you 🙂

  4. I feel like I just won a race or first prize in a spelling bee! Thank you, Bill, LJ, and Lisa! You guys are the very best!

  5. Happy New year, Alice. See how you can keep making new accomplishments. Life has bumps, but in general is good, especially if we continue learning.

    • Beth, you’re such a positive influence in my life. I will remember your words of wisdom. Thanks!

  6. Happy New Year, Alice, welcome to geekdom!

  7. Jean! Isn’t it a miracle? I’m going love geekdom! 🙂

  8. I wonder if any economists are planning for the supposed apocalypse. Tee. I amuse myself.

    Have a good new year, Alice. Here’s to a good 2011 and an even better 2012.

    • Good to hear from you, McKenzie. I too wonder about those economists and even more about the politicians who don’t want to hear it. 🙂 Best Wishes to you for the year. May your book be published soon.

  9. Yay Alice! May 2012 be filled with many such successes. You can do anything you want to do.

  10. Roxie, if ever anyone deserved a rollicking fun New Year, it’s you! Thanks for well wishes.

  11. It was an honor to walk with you through 2011, although there were many times you were encouraging me along. Thanks for the nudges and love.

  12. Oh…and congratulations on the good looking post. You go girl!

  13. Hey Barb, thanks for dropping by, both by blog and by “foot.” 🙂 See you on Wednesday! 🙂

  14. Thanks and Happy New Year to you!

  15. I was sorry to hear of your family’s recent loss. Let me know if there is anything I can do.

  16. Jan, thanks so much for checking in. Best wishes back to you.


Leave a Reply

