How Sweet It Is

In this moment, I think of the happy or memorable events most of us experience in a lifetime. There are graduations, marriages, the birth of children or grandchildren, buying a first house, getting that awesome job, taking a great vacation, and, if you’re a writer, having a book published. Such times seem to engender other special moments, such as a baby’s first smile, the first paycheck, or the first party in a new home.

I experienced on of those watershed moments when Volunteer for Glory was published as an e-book on March 20. But holding the solid, print version is a not-to-be forgotten thrill for any author. To my mind, e-books seem somewhat ethereal, for I’m a throwback to the analog age. On June 9, that first copy rested heavy and real in my hands, the cover new and shiny, and suddenly the whole publishing process seemed real.

The characters and events I knew so well returned to vibrant life. Rachel, Stuart, and Jared assumed a kind of independence, and, I suspect, are living beyond the last page.  So what happened to them?  Other children must have been born. Did Philip go to Louisiana in search of his southern roots?  Did Jared take up a profession other than farming?  Did Rachel ever forget her first love?  So many questions whose answers lie only in conjecture.

I confess I’m as proud and nervous as any parent watching a beloved child wave good-bye at the schoolhouse steps.  To celebrate, I’ll post the first chapter in installments over the next several weeks. For those who haven’t read the book, this is a preview.  Hope you like it.

Published in: on June 20, 2011 at 4:00 am  Comments (10)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alicelynn.wordpress.com/2011/06/20/how-sweet-it-is/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations! I can only imagine what it feels like to hold your very own book in your hands. It’s the cherry on top of your sundae!
    Hopefully, I’ll get there someday too!

    • Loni, welcome to my blog. 🙂 And thank you for your kind words. Be sure to let me know when your “sundae” arrives! We’ll want to mention it loud and clear.

  2. Thank you! I’m afraid I’m a long way from being finished. This is all very new to me and I’m kind of learning as I go. I’m only 30,000 words in.
    In short, it’s about a girl, well woman- Clair, she’s 20. She’s had a rough life ever since dad up and left her mom. Her moms parenting skills went down the drain when dad left and Clair, not being able to take it anymore runs away. From there she kind of just drifts around from place to place and now she in a new town and she gets a helping hand from a friendly women who owns a diner. She also meets Alex (who has issues of his own) and at the moment, they are falling for each other.
    I’m a sucker for romance 🙂

    • Loni, congratulations on achieving 30k words! That’s a bunch of writing. Where you do think the finished product will go genre-wise? Romance or women’s fiction? But no matter what genre, I think romance adds to it. Like I love mysteries that have a romance going on. Do you have a working title?

      • I’m up to 36,000 now…moving right along! I’m not exactly sure the genre it fits in, I think maybe in Contemporary Romance. And no I still have no clue on the title. Every time I think of something I think it sounds dumb. I guess I’ll know the right one when it comes along. I’m not even sure what I’m writing is that good but I know I’ve got to try somewhere, right?

  3. Congrats, Alice!!! Can’t wait to read it!

  4. Yay, looking forward to the serialization!

  5. I’m holding y our book in my hand, too. It’s a great feeling to be one of the many midwives to the pregnancy, and then finally see the baby fully clothed in its new cover, and feel the heft of all those page4s. Having read the e-version just last month, I think I’ll wait and savor the “real live book” version after summer. To anyone who hasn’t read it yet, it’s a wonderful story, with a well researched background, written by a master of emotions.

  6. Way to go Alice. Hope to get my copy soon.

  7. That truly is a one-of-a-kind experience, Alice. Congratulations. 🙂


Leave a Reply

