Countdown to the Civil War: April 9, 1861

Wall Street appears to be in crisis.  Traders view an almost deserted market.  Confidence seems at an all time low as investors focus their attention on the future of the nation.

In Washington, President Lincoln is besieged with telegrams, begging him to not surrender Fort Sumter.

Rachel’s Diary:  April 9, 1861:

Though I am but five months gone with child, I wonder if he (I am certain it is a boy) will ever know his father. I will not, for one moment, let Stuart believe I will release him from his promise, but I must face the likelihood he will be not be present for the birth. When Elsa is fully recovered, I will ask her advice on what I must do to prepare myself. She has spoken of a midwife, but I believe I would prefer to have Dr. Bennett attend me.

Published in: on April 9, 2011 at 6:00 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alicelynn.wordpress.com/2011/04/09/countdown-to-the-civil-war-april-9-1861/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t like Rachel’s husband!

    • Yes, I seem to remember you saying, “kill him” when I was reading Volunteer to the group. !!

  2. Great book as is WRENN. Can’t decide which I like better.

    • Blessings on you for remembering Wrenn as well as Volunteer. Love or War, that’s the question.

  3. That Stuart, he’s a rascal all right. Don’t let him escape his duties!


Leave a Reply

