In the Spotlight

Tuesday, January 18th, was a big day.  I’d been asked to be a guest on The Author’s Forum, hosted by Dr. Veronica Esaqui, author, publisher, and chiropractic doctor.  You can view her numerous accomplishments in depth by visiting her website. You will not be disappointed!

When I arrived at the studio, Veronica greeted me warmly, helping to dissipate my uncertainties. Lisa Nowak, my personal support person, snapped pictures as Veronica and I sat in our wing chairs while sound and lights were tried and adjusted. I was instructed how to recognize which camera was “on,” but cautioned to not look for the red light unless I wanted to speak directly to the audience! As if! Finally we got the signal from Karen Sorbel, the show’s producer.  We were on!

Getting instructions for the cameraman

I stumbled on the first question but under Veronica’s gentle guidance forgot about the cameras and began chatting. She gave me leeway to remark on my first ideas for Wrenn, my Egyptian experience, and why I had chosen the Edwardian period as a setting.  Some of the things I’d wanted to say weren’t said, while other things were.

After the virtual curtain came down, I had time to wonder if I’d been too relaxed. Had I prevented Veronica from introducing topics that would have kept me firmly on track? “No, you did fine,” was her lovely assurance.  “You were good,” Lisa and Karen said.  But once I was home, doubt set in.  I went from a cautious euphoria to “interviewee’s remorse.”  What a night of second-guessing!!

The following evening, PBS aired a BBC sitcom showing an unsocial doctor being interviewed on a radio talk show. If I’m the poster girl for the runaway mouth, he gets the prize for monosyllabic replies.  I think that makes me feel better.

The Author's Forum crew

Until I view the show, I take comfort from knowing that Veronica was the impeccable host, poised, gracious, and organized.  I just hope I didn’t let her down.  Thank you, Veronica.  Thank you, Karen. Thank you, Lisa.

Published in: on January 23, 2011 at 11:02 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alicelynn.wordpress.com/2011/01/23/in-the-spotlight/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m sure you did fine. Don’t worry so much. It was a great opportunity! Can’t wait to see the show.

  2. I have not seen your interview listed yet. Do you know when it will be viewable on her website?

  3. Rose, it will take about two months for them to process the show, then it will be aired on cable and put on the website. We’ll let you know.

  4. I just watched your interview today and really enjoyed it! You are a star!!! ;^)
    I sent a link to all my friends to watch it!


Leave a Reply

