Old Memories and New Beginnings

Of the many New Years that have passed, two remain fixed in my memory.  The New Year’s Eve when I looked up into the midnight sky and saw the first snowflakes that would herald the great snow of 1950.  My father scoffed when I ran to say, “It’s snowing!  It’s snowing!”  But I was right.  It was.

The second memory occurred when I was eighteen.  Bridling my beloved horse, Stormy, I rode him to the end of a nearby road ending at a neighbor’s pasture.  As the distant sound of gunfire and celebratory shrieks echoed through the night, we welcomed 1956.  What great things lay ahead, I wondered?  Romance?  Travel?  Art school? Writing a book?

The years have passed, some good and some not so good.  But this is a time to look forward.  The new year recognizes the fulfillment of at least one old ambition. Wrenn, Egypt House, published in 2008, is now available on Kindle through Amazon.com.  Volunteer for Glory is looking for an agent in this 140th year anniversary of the shots fired on Fort Sumter that formally triggered the War Between the States.  And Scattered Pieces, a book set later than either Wrenn or Volunteer, is ready for what I hope is a final edit.

The most immediate “new beginning” brings a January TV interview with Veronica Esagui, writer and publisher of the show, Author’s Forum. We will discuss the writing process, and in particular, Wrenn, Egypt House. The show will air on Comcast cable, either channel 11 or 28.

Other events are already in progress; continued participation in Chrysalis, a writing group for women.  Association in that group has brought new and amazing people into my life; women who are not only talented writers, but who are gifted in diverse fields. I will continue my work in the field of editing.

Gazing into the crystal ball of the future, I see the shadows of things planned but, as usual, the future lies hidden to all but prophets and seers.  May this new decade be one of peace and economic stability.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Buy Wrenn, Egypt House at Amazon.com

Buy Wrenn, Egypt House as an e-book

Published in: on January 1, 2011 at 11:46 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alicelynn.wordpress.com/2011/01/01/old-memories-and-new-beginnings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Best of luck to you with your writing goals in 2011. I’m going to hold you to sending out those queries for VFG!

  2. Me too. I’ve not read VFG in it’s finished entirety, but I know it needs to be published!


Leave a Reply

